Home > Security Cameras > Other Topics > Export, Mark and Delete Video

Export, Mark and Delete Video

Overview

This article outlines the various ways to export video from the Dashboard.

Export Video from Video Wall

  1. Navigate to Cameras > Monitor > Video Wal

  2. Select a video wall and click Export

  3. Select start and end time and date for the export. Alternatively, use the timeline slider to chose the export duration. If multiple camera nodes are in the video wall, select the camera from the dropdown and click export. If there is only a single camera node, click export.

Export Video from Camera Status Page

  1. Navigate to Cameras > Monitor > Cameras

  2. Select the desired camera from the camera list.

  3. On the Video tab, click Export.

  4. Select start and end time and date for the export. Alternatively, use the timeline slider to chose the export duration.

  5. Click Submit to start the export.

Note: The current minimum time allowed for a single export is 1 minute and maximum time allowed for a single export is one hour. The download link for an export is good for one hour at time of page load. Refreshing the dashboard page generates a new download link. 

Exports Retention Period

By default, an export will be stored for 30 days in the Meraki cloud ecosystem. If a max retention time that is less than 30 days is set on a node, the export retention period will respect that value.

Mark Video/Pause Processing

Video that needs to be set aside or marked for further review can be set under the Export menu on the Camera Status Page or Video Wall

Video can be marked and paused by selecting the arrow next to Export > Pause processing for GDPR. A slider will appear that allows you to select a time section to pause. Once a section has been selected, click Pause Processing at the top-right section of the video screen. The paused selection will be added to the Paused clips list.

Pause_Processing.png

Paused clips will not be viewable in the stream and will not be processed until 'Unpaused.' These clips will be stored and will not be overwritten. Each paused clip can be up to 24 hours long.

Note that paused video clips are stored locally and will consume space on the internal storage of the camera. Storing large amounts of video in Paused clips may impact video retention times, as the internal storage of the camera will not overwrite paused clips and will not be able to use the storage they consume while paused.

Delete Video

Video that needs to be permanently deleted can be deleted under the Export menu on the Camera Status Page or Video Wall

Video can be deleted by selecting the arrow next to Export > Delete. A slider will appear that allows you to select a time section to delete.

Delete1.png

Once a section has been selected, click Delete Video at the top-right section of the video screen. The deleted selection will be permanently removed, and will no longer be marked as green on the timeline slider.

Delete2.png

Note that video which has been deleted is permanently lost and cannot be recovered. Meraki cameras store all video on local storage and Meraki does not keep backups of camera video.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Explore the Product

Click to Learn More

Article ID

ID: 5372

Explore Meraki

You can find out more about Cisco Meraki on our main site, including information on products, contacting sales and finding a vendor.

Explore Meraki

Contact Support

Most questions can be answered by reviewing our documentation, but if you need more help, Cisco Meraki Support is ready to work with you.

Open a Case

Ask the Community

In the Meraki Community, you can keep track of the latest announcements, find answers provided by fellow Meraki users and ask questions of your own.

Visit the Community