Both profiles and managed apps can be removed from Systems Manager client devices remotely via dashboard. This article will cover multiple methods for removing both.
If an app or profile must be removed from ALL managed devices, there are two possible approaches, dependent on whether the profile/app will be needed again in the future.
If the app/profile will not be needed in the future, it can be deleted from Systems Manager. Once deleted, it will be removed from all devices on which it was previously applied. To delete a profile/app:
If a profile/app should be be removed from all devices, but may need to be reapplied at a later date, the scope can be modified to not include any devices. To do this:
When one or more profiles/apps must be removed from multiple devices, there are several possible methods:
When one or more profile(s)/app(s) need to be removed from a single device, it is best to modify the tags associated with that device to remove it from the scope of the profile(s)/app(s).
Alternatively, specific apps can be manually removed:
In the event all profiles and apps must be removed from one or more devices, it is possible to perform a selective wipe and place the device(s) into quarantine. When this is done, all managed profiles and apps will be removed from the device as soon as possible (see client behavior section below) and no additional profiles/apps will be deployed. This will remain in effect, regardless of any tags applied, until the device(s) is/are removed from quarantine and authorized. This is useful when a device should have no managed content/settings, but should still be tracked and controlled in Systems Manager.
To perform a selective wipe:
For more details, refer to the knowledge base article on selective wipe.
Once a managed app or profile has been queued for uninstallation, the client device will process that once the command has been received. The time this takes can vary by device and various other factors. Ensure that the client device is unlocked, powered on, and connected to a wireless network or mobile data in order to receive the command. If Wifi settings are removed, and no other auto-join networks are configured or mobile data enabled, the device will not be able to communicate to systems manager or the internet following removal until the device is manually reconnected.
Note: Only managed apps can be be removed. If the app was installed manually, or via another means, it will not be possible to remove it remotely from systems manager.
Apps/profiles and associated settings will be removed in the background once unlocked. The user will not be prompted.
User will be prompted to remove apps via a notification. Once confirmed, the app will be uninstalled. Profiles and associated settings will be removed silently in the background.
Apps can be configured to not auto-install or auto-remove. This disable auto-install option is available on the app details page beneath Scope. When this option is checked, apps will NOT automatically be removed when a client device is no longer in scope. The app will need to be manually uninstalled by the user or using the Systems Manager > Manage > Uninstall option under the Clients in scope section.
Once an a app or provide has been removed from a device it can be confirmed from the client details page. From the Systems Manager > Monitor > Clients page, select the client to check.
Once a profile has been removed, it will no longer appear under the Profiles section of the client details page.
Once an app has been removed, it will no longer appear under the Apps section of the clients details page. There will also be an entry in the Activity log showing that the app was removed or if removal is pending.