Home > Enterprise Mobility Management > Profiles and Settings > Removing Profiles and Apps from Managed Devices

Removing Profiles and Apps from Managed Devices

Both profiles and managed apps can be removed from Systems Manager client devices remotely via dashboard. This article will cover multiple methods for removing both.  

Remove Profiles/Apps from All Devices

If an app or profile must be removed from ALL managed devices, there are two possible approaches, dependent on whether the profile/app will be needed again in the future.

Permanent Removal

If the app/profile will not be needed in the future, it can be deleted from Systems Manager. Once deleted, it will be removed from all devices it was previously scoped for.

To delete an app:

  1. Navigate to Systems manager > MDM > Apps
  2. Select the checkboxes for the app(s) you wish to remove.
  3. Select 'Delete' and confirm deletion.

 

To delete a profile:

  1. Navigate to Systems manager > MDM > Settings.
  2. Select the profile to delete from the dropdown bar.
  3. Click Delete this profile towards the bottom of the page.

Temporary Removal

If a profile/app should be be removed from all devices, but may need to be reapplied at a later date, the scope can be modified to not include any devices. To do this:

  1. Navigate to the appropriate management page.
    • For apps:  Systems Manager > MDM > Apps
    • For profiles:  Systems Manager > MDM > Settings
  2. Select the application or profile to unscope.
  3. Edit the scope to be 'No devices (disabled)'. This will remove the app or profile from all devices that currently have it installed.

Remove Profiles/Apps from Multiple Devices

When one or more profiles/apps must be removed from multiple devices, there are several possible methods:

Note: Once a device is out of scope, it will no longer appear under the Clients in scope section of the profile/app page

 

  • Force uninstallation of app from select devices (does not apply to profiles)
    1. From the Systems Manager > MDM > Apps page, select the app to be removed.
    2. Under the Clients in scope section, click the checkbox next to any devices that should have the app removed.
    3. Click Manage > Uninstall
      Note: For app removal from the device to be permanent, it may be necessary to remove the device from scope as well. Otherwise, the app may be reinstalled later.

  

Remove Profiles/Apps from a Single Device

When one or more profile(s)/app(s) need to be removed from a single device, it is best to modify the tags associated with that device to remove it from the scope of the profile(s)/app(s).

 

Alternatively, specific apps can be manually removed:

  1. Navigate to Systems Manager > Monitor > Clients and select the device in question.
  2. Under Apps, find the row for the app to be removed.
  3. Click Remove.
    Note: For app removal from the device to be permanent, it may be necessary to remove the device from scope as well. Otherwise, the app may be reinstalled later.

  

Remove All Profiles/Apps from Device(s)

In the event all profiles and apps must be removed from one or more devices, it is possible to perform a selective wipe and place the device(s) into quarantine. When this is done, all managed profiles and apps will be removed from the device as soon as possible (see client behavior section below) and no additional profiles/apps will be deployed.

This will remain in effect, regardless of any tags applied, until the devices are removed from quarantine and authorized. This is useful when a device should have no managed content/settings, but should still be tracked and controlled in Systems Manager.

 

For more information, see the Selective Wipe and Quarantine article.

 

To perform a selective wipe:

  1. Navigate to Systems Manager > Monitor > Clients.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the device(s) to have all profiles/apps removed.
  3. Click Quarantine > Selective wipe.
  4. If a specific device is then browsed to, a warning will be displayed indicating that the device is in quarantine. 

Client Behavior on Removal

Once a managed app or profile has been queued for uninstallation, the client device will process that once the command has been received. The time this takes can vary by device and several other factors. Ensure that the client device is unlocked, powered on, and connected to a wireless network or mobile data in order to receive the command.  If wireless settings are removed, and no other auto-join networks are configured or mobile data enabled, the device will not be able to communicate to Systems Manager or the internet following removal, until the device is manually reconnected.  

Note: Only managed apps can be be removed. If the app was installed manually, or via another means, it will not be possible to selectively remove it through Systems Manager.

iOS Devices

Apps/profiles and associated settings will be removed in the background once unlocked. The user will not be prompted.   

Android Devices

If applications were deployed through Android Enterprise to a work profile or device owner mode Android, uninstalls will happen silently in the background. Profiles and associated settings will also be removed silently in the background.

Disable Auto-Install Option

Apps can be configured to not auto-install or auto-remove. This disable auto-install option is available on the app details page beneath Scope. When this option is checked, apps will NOT automatically be removed when a client device is no longer in scope. The app will need to be manually uninstalled by the user or using the Systems Manager > Manage > Uninstall option under the Clients in scope section.

Confirming Removal

Once an a app or provide has been removed from a device it can be confirmed from the client details page. From the Systems Manager > Monitor > Clients page, select the client to check under the 'Profiles' and 'Apps' lists.

When removing an app, there will also be an entry in the Activity log showing that the app was removed or if removal is pending.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
13:56, 2 Jun 2017

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Article ID

ID: 1223

Contact Support

Most questions can be answered by reviewing our documentation, but if you need more help, Cisco Meraki Support is ready to work with you.

Open a Case