Home > General Administration > Licensing > Removing and Moving Licenses

Removing and Moving Licenses

There are a number of licensing issues that are caused by misapplication of a single license key. If a license has been applied incorrectly, the undo license claim tool can be used to remove the license so it can be re-added correctly.

This article will explain how to remove licenses from organizations, using the undo license claim tool.

Use Cases

There are two common situations where a license application can cause problems on an organization:

  • License was applied to the wrong organization.
    A license may have accidentally been applied to the incorrect organization. The undo license claim tool will release the license so it can be applied to the correct organization.
  • License was incorrectly applied as a renewal or add devices.
    When a license key is applied to an organization, there are two options for the license type: Renewal or add devices. Applying a license as the incorrect type will have an undesired effect on the organization's licensing, and will likely take the organization out of compliance. The undo license claim tool can be used to remove the license, so it can be reapplied correctly.
    For more information on different ways to apply licenses, please refer to our documentation regarding Licensing Guidelines and Limitations.

Using the Undo License Tool

The undo license claim button will only be available within 7 days of the license application. For issues with older licenses, please follow these steps:

  1. Make sure you are a full organization administrator on both organizations. If not, this process will need to be followed by another admin.
  2. Contact support with the following information:
    • Your support passcodes for each organization.
    • The license key to be transferred.
    • (optional) If the license needs to be split, the device models and number of devices that need to be covered on the new organization.

 

The following steps explain how to undo a license application:

  1. In Dashboard, navigate to Organization > Configure > License info.
  2. Click the undo button next to the license in question:
  3. Review the confirmation window that pops up. If you are sure this is the correct license to remove, click Yes:

 

Upon confirming the change and closing the pop-up, the organization will be reverted to the previous licensing state. The original license will be invalidated, so a replacement key will be generated. The new license key can then be re-applied or added to another organization for the remaining license term. The new license key can also be found under Organization > Change log.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
15:10, 11 Jul 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Explore Meraki

You can find out more about Cisco Meraki on our main site, including information on products, contacting sales and finding a vendor.

Explore Meraki

Contact Support

Most questions can be answered by reviewing our documentation, but if you need more help, Cisco Meraki Support is ready to work with you.

Open a Case

Ask the Community

In the Meraki Community, you can keep track of the latest announcements, find answers provided by fellow Meraki users and ask questions of your own.

Visit the Community