Meraki Billing prevents identity (login) sharing. Meraki Dashboard tracks the computer (MAC address) from which a given user logs in. If a user logs in from a different computer than the previous login, Dashboard will automatically de-authorize the previous computer. This prevents a single login account from being used by multiple computers at one time.
- User on computer A logs in with username "X" and can now access the network.
- A while later, a user on computer B also logs in with username "X".
- Computer A is now de-authorized from the network, and computer B will now be the only computer authorized on the network for the account belonging to username "X".
- If the first user were to log in again on computer A, computer B would be de-authorized and computer A would be allowed to use the network again.
For Sign-On Splash Page Networks
By default, multiple simultaneous logins for a given username and password are allowed. However, multiple simultaneous logins can be disabled, in which case the behavior will be as it is described above for billing networks. This works whether you use Meraki's authentication server (also called "Specific Users" authentication) or your own RADIUS authentication server.
To disable multiple simultaneous logins toggle the drop down menu under Configure->Access Control labeled Simultaneous Logins