Home > General Administration > Inventory and Devices > Moving Devices Between Networks

Moving Devices Between Networks

An administrator can move devices between networks (to which he/she has access) within a given organization or between different organizations. When doing so, it is important to budget up to 15 minutes of downtime for the transferred devices to update their configurations. Pre-configuring Dashboard networks before transferring devices is strongly encouraged to expedite this process.

Moving Non-MX Devices Between Networks

To move a Meraki device from one network to another:

  1. In Dashboard, navigate to the network containing the device.
  2. Navigate to the Monitor page listing all devices in the network.
    • MR - Navigate to Wireless > Monitor > Access points.
    • MS - Navigate to Switch > Monitor > Switches.
    • MC - Navigate to Phones > Monitor > Phones.
    • MV - Navigate to Cameras > Monitor > Cameras.
  3. Select the checkbox next to the device you intend to move.
  4. Click the Edit drop-down menu, select the destination network from the drop-down, and click Move to another network... to move the device:

MX Security Appliances

Since a Security Appliance only contains one MX device (or two identical devices in a warm spare configuration), there is rarely a need to move an MX from one network to another. As such there is no dedicated move tool.

To move an MX security appliance between networks, it can be manually removed from one network and added into another. Please refer to our documentation for more information.

MS Switches

When moving an MS switch to a new network, all settings in the current network will be lost.

The following switch settings will be moved to the new network:

  • Name
  • Geolocation address
  • Management address
  • Notes
  • Tags

ALL other switch and port settings will be lost upon moving to the new network.

 

MV Cameras

When moving an MV to a new network, you can choose to either delete the historical video or retain it. The default option is to delete the video.

Screen Shot 2019-04-01 at 8.41.56 PM.png

 

When moving camera from a network to another, choose "Yes" to retain the video.


Screen Shot 2019-04-01 at 8.42.31 PM.png

 

Though the video is retained the following settings and functionality will be affected:

  • Recording schedule from the initial network is not retained. The destination camera will need the scheduled to be re-applied. On the other hand, if the camera was using motion based retention, it will continue to do so after the move.
  • Motion Alerts will have to re-enabled.
  • Motion Search - While the historical video exists after the move, the historical video from the earlier network will not be motion searchable. The video after the move will continue to be motion searchable.

ALL other camera settings are retained upon moving to the new network.

Moving Devices Between Organizations

This article discussed how to move devices between networks, within a single organization. For information on moving devices between different organizations, please refer to our documentation.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

Explore the Product

Click to Learn More

Article ID

ID: 4411

Explore Meraki

You can find out more about Cisco Meraki on our main site, including information on products, contacting sales and finding a vendor.

Explore Meraki

Contact Support

Most questions can be answered by reviewing our documentation, but if you need more help, Cisco Meraki Support is ready to work with you.

Open a Case

Ask the Community

In the Meraki Community, you can keep track of the latest announcements, find answers provided by fellow Meraki users and ask questions of your own.

Visit the Community